2008 - Sony Music Entertainment

Above The Ground - Burton Cummings

Above the Ground is the eighth studio album by Burton Cummings, released on November 4, 2008, by Sony Music Entertainment Canada. The album was produced by Cummings and Joe Vannelli and has a runtime of 74 minutes ¹. It was Cummings’ first solo recording since 1996 and his newest studio album since his 1990 release Plus Signs ¹.

According to a review by AllMusic, the album is a mix of rock, pop, and blues, and features a wide range of styles, along with a bit of blunt satire. The album’s long runtime allows each track to remain interesting and to cover a number of topics. The reviewer concluded that it is the “wide range of styles, along with a bit of blunt satire” that make the album, giving it 3/5 stars. The album’s themes revolve around the meaning of life and thoughts on what growing older is like the track “Kurt’s Song” is a tribute to Cummings’s late The Guess Who bandmate Kurt Winter .


1. Crazy If You Mess With The Gods
2. Junior Won’t Behave
3. T.P.O.S.
4. Any Minor Miracle
5. Powers At Play
6. Ponderlust
7. Rolloway
8. We Came From The U.S.A.
9. Pretty Pictures
10. Look Out Charlie
11. Kurt’s Song
12. Richard
13. Dream
14. Up In The Canyon
15. A Touch Of Morning
16. Revelation
17. Invisible
18. Retribution
19. Above The Ground

The definitive Burton Cummings live show captured at Toronto’s Massey Hall during his 2011 and 2012 appearances.
Bonus tracks “Break It To Them Gently” & “Star Baby” are available via download only.

David Love: Acoustic & Electric Guitars & Vocals
Nick Sinopli: Percussion & Vocals
Sean Fitzsimons: Drums & Vocals
Jeff Jones: Bass Guitar & Vocals
Tim Bovaconti: Lead Guitars & Vocals