1981 - Capitol Records

As Far As Siam - Red Rider

As Far As Siam is the second studio album by the Canadian rock band Red Rider, released in 1981 by Capitol Records. The album was mostly produced by Richard Landis at Sunset Sound in Los Angeles, except for two tracks that were produced by Michael James Jackson in Toronto. The album features the band’s most famous song, “Lunatic Fringe”, which was inspired by a book about Raoul Wallenberg and the rise of anti-Semitism in the 1970s.

The album showcases the diverse musical influences and talents of the band members, who wrote all the songs. The album ranges from rock to pop to country, with elements of steel guitar, harmonica, theremin and synthesizers. The album received positive reviews from critics and reached number 65 on the Billboard Pop Albums chart. The single “What Have You Got to do (To Get Off Tonight)” peaked at number 16 on the Canadian charts. As Far As Siam is considered one of the best albums by Red Rider and a classic of Canadian rock music.

  1. Lunatic Fringe (4:20)
  2. Cowboys In Hong Kong (As Far As Siam (4:06]
  3. Only Game In Town (3:18)
  4. Thru The Curtain (3:17)
  5. What Have You Got To Do (To Get Off Tonight)+ (3:18)
  6. Ships (4:36)
  7. Caught In The Middle (4:25)
  8. Don’t Let Go Of Me (3:56)
  9. Laughing Man+ (3:36)

Produced By
Richard Landis,   + James Jackson


Rob Baker: Drums, Additional Percussion, Harmonica on “Lunatic Fringe”
Peter Boynton: Piano, Synthesizers, Organ, Vocals
Tom Cochrane: Lead Vocals, Rhythm, Guitar
Ken Greer: Electric, Steel & Six String Guitars, Piano, Organ
Jeff Jones: Bass Guitar, Background Vocals

Recorded at Sunset Sound, Los Angeles, CA by Joe Chiccarelli, assisted by Richard McKernan, Location Recorders, Burbank, CA by Joe Chiccarelli. Additional Recording by Michael Verdick, Eastern Sound, Toronto by Mike Jones, Jum Nipar & Fraser Hill.