2007 - Sony Music Canada

Jukebox - Bachman Cummings

Jukebox is a studio album from Canadian rock musicians Randy Bachman and Burton Cummings, performing together under the name “The Bachman-Cummings Band”. It was released on Sony BMG on June 12, 2007. The album features cover versions of songs from the 1960s that Bachman and Cummings listened to while growing up in Winnipeg, Manitoba. Bachman and Cummings are backed on the album by the Canadian band The Carpet Frogs. The album has a runtime of 1 hour and 50 seconds.

According to a review by AllMusic, the album is a mix of rock, pop, and blues, and features a wide range of styles, along with a bit of blunt satire. The album’s long runtime allows each track to remain interesting and to cover a number of topics. The reviewer concluded that it is the “wide range of styles, along with a bit of blunt satire” that make the album, giving it 3/5 stars. Another review by antiMusic.com praised the album’s faithful renditions of the originals, with a couple of unique treatments. The reviewer also noted that both Bachman and Cummings get their moments to shine, with both sharing vocals.

01: Baby Come Back
02: Who Do You Love
03: I’m Happy Just To Dance With You
04: The Walk
05: Don’t Talk to Him
06: Man Of Mystery
07: Ain’t That Just Like A Woman
08: Little Queenie
09: Good Times
10: Like A Rolling Stone
11 Judy In Disguise (With Glasses)
12: Don’t You Just Know It
13: Yeh, Yeh
14: Agent Double-O Soul
15: The Letter
16: Ain’t That Loving You Baby
17: American Woman 2007

Produced by
Randy Bachman & Burton Cummings
Except “American Woman 2007” – Burton Cummings, Randy Bachman & Sam Boyd.

Executive Producer: Lorne Saifer. Co-Executive Producer: Giles Paquin.
Co-Producer: Sam Boyd.

Recorded November 2006 at Metalworks Studios, Toronto except “American Woman 2007” – recorded live at CBC soundstage rehearsals, March 2006 by Nark Scola. Additional recording at Metalworks, November 2006 & March 2007.

Deluxe edition of this Canadian import includes a bonus DVD: The Jukebox Interviews.

Background Vocals & Percussion: Nick Sinopoli.
Bass & Background Vocals: Jeff Jones.
Drums, Percussion & Background Vocals: Sean Fitzsimons.
Guitars & Background Vocals: Dave Love.
Guitars, Slide Guitar & Background Vocals: Michael “Mickey Zee” Zweig.

Handclaps on “The Walk”: Sam Boyd, Gillles Paquin, Lorne Saifer.
Additional background vocals on “Good Times” Lil Sarafian, Barb Sherk Fitzsimons.
Additional background vocals & handclaps on “Don’t You Just Know It”: Sam Boyd, Lydia Hoshmand, Ashley Moniz, Barry Roden, Lil Sarafian.
Tambourine on “Agent Double-O Soul”: Lorne Saifer, Gilles Paquin, Burton Cummings